nIIz designs

welcome to our crazy world

I was going to get photos today…

on October 22, 2013
But I picked up the crochet hook to work on my Umami shrug (Interweave Crochet fall 2013).  I want to get this done before I go to New York and next month I’m doing NaNoWriMo, so I figure it’s a better time for photos too.  this month is being used and abused to finish up projects.
Back to the shrug though, for it I’m using Sock ease, because I wanted to torture myself with a small yarn and thought why not play with wool too since it’s one I haven’t used before.  So far I’m loving the ease of the pattern (It’s all chain stitch, treble stitch, double stitch and slip stitch, and easy to memorize!)  not sure how it’ll go with the back of the shrug though because I want to add a hood (I love my hoodies okay?!).  I’ve never tried a hood before either so there’s a new challenge.  If I can’t figure that out it’ll be okay, I’ll just wear it under one of my hooded vests.
Oh, and I know I posted a recipe a few days ago.  Saturday I tried a new one for Zucchini bread.  This isn’t exactly the one that I’m used to, and I didn’t have wheat flour on hand but oooh it was nice to have the house smelling like the holidays for an evening.  And yes, these are a hit!  I made one batch, and will be going to a party on Saturday so I’m going to be taking these with me.  That is if I don’t nibble on all of them before hand (So glad I have more zucchini because I’ll be making two batches for the party and the last one for the house!)
Let’s see I’m also staring at about 30 coffee cozies that need to be finished so they can be popped up on line.  They just need the pockets sewed on and the tails tucked in and done!  I’ll be digging around in my yarn stash for more yarn I can use on those because I love how fast those whip up.  Planning if I have time to get two bunnies done for my step-mom’s grandkids.  It’s been so long since I’ve worked on Amigurumi that I’m worried I’m forgetting how to make them!  So yep! It’s time to fix that problem.  Not to mention Dad bought me The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Amigurumi by June Gilbank, last year for Christmas and I’ve flipped through it but haven’t really played with it yet.  I love June’s patterns so figure it’s about time I break into it just to see it there’s any tricks I haven’t figured out through trial and error yet.
So, how’s everyone else’s Tuesday / Week so far?  Hopefully not as crazy as mine!
– Nicky
Leave a Reply

